Health Professional Reporting Page
(updated November 9, 2016)

About Mandatory Reporting (follows table below)

Patient Confidentiality Concerns? 
 See California DPH: Letter To All California Health Care Providers: HIPAA and Public Health Disclosures June 15, 2012

HEALTH PROFESSIONAL REPORTING TABLE
                  (see also arrow Health Provider Public Health Resources Page
                              arrow ACDC Clinician Zika Virus Information Page
                               arrow Zika Testing & Notification (LA County Only)

To report: Form to use: Number to Call: DPH Program Information Webpage:
Animal Bite to Human Animal Bite Report Form (Web submit) (213) 989-7060 Veterinary Public Health Program (VetPH) Homepage
Animal with a Disease (for Animal Clinic or Veterinarian use) Animal Disease Report Form (Web submit)
Animal Disease Report Page
HIV/AIDS- Pediatric
(<13 years old)
HIV/AIDS Pediatric Report Form (.pdf) (213) 351-8146 Division of
HIV & STD Programs (DHSP) Homepage
HIV/AIDS- Adult
(> 13 years old)
HIV/AIDS Adult Report Form (.pdf)
STD STD Reporting Information and  Forms (213) 744-3070 (DHSP --
use link above)
STD Laboratory Results STD Laboratory Reporting Information and Form
TB TB Reporting Forms (213) 745-0800 TB Control Program (TBC) Homepage
TB Laboratory Results TB Laboratory Report Form
(Web fillable)
TB Lab Reporting Information
Suspected Foodborne Illness Foodborne Illness Reporting Form (Web submit) (888) 397-3993 Acute Communicable Disease Control Program (ACDC)Reporting Page
Infectious Disease (except HIV, STD, TB) Confidential Morbidity Report Form H794, v.7'08, pdf (Web-fillable)
Laboratory Reportable  Results (except HIV, STD, TB) (For directions see Mandatory Laboratory Reporting List) (888) 397-3993 Mandatory Laboratory Reporting List (.pdf)  (9/2012)
Pesticide-Related Illness CA EPA OEHHA Confidential Report Known or Suspected Pesticide-Related Illness OEH700, v9/06 (Web-fillable)  (888) 397-3993


Fax report to:
(888) 397-3778
 
Disorders
Characterized by Lapses of
Consciousness
CDPH DMV Confidential Morbidity Form 110C, v.10/11  (Web-fillable)  (888) 397-3993

Fax report to:
(888) 397-3778
 
 
General Information
        for Health Professionals and Other Mandated Reporters


About Mandatory Reporting in California

Why report? 
Because it's essential for disease control and public safety. Failure to timely report has contributed to preventable secondary transmission and disease outbreaks.

Mandated reporters "extend the eyes and ears" of health officers (HOs) -- a key role to ensure the ongoing disease surveillance and response that is crucial to protect public health and safety within and across local health department (LHD) jurisdictions, our state, nation, and beyond. In California, a legally-appointed local HO (LHO) serves each of the state's 61 LHDs, including all 58 counties plus three cities (Berkeley, Pasadena and Long Beach). Each LHO reports diseases to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) state HO. Primary objectives of disease surveillance are:

  • to raise alerts to the presence of dangerous diseases or conditions;
  • to determine the extent of morbidity within the community;
  • to evaluate risk of transmission;
  • to intervene rapidly when appropriate;
  • to protect the health of patients and the public.

Why else report?
Because it's the law. Penalties for not reporting can be severe.

For example: Per state law, Medical Board of California may discipline a licensee's failure to report as unprofessional conduct, with possible misdemeanor criminal charges incurring fine (up to $1,200) or imprisonment (60 to 180 days) or both fine and imprisonment    (Business and Professions Code, Medical Practice Act -- BPC Sections 2234, 2314, 2315 ).

Who must report?
State law details persons who must report a human or animal with a case or suspected case of a dangerous disease or condition. Persons mandated to report include health care providers, laboratories, public health professionals, officials of most types of schools, and certain other persons. "Health care provider" means a physician and surgeon, veterinarian, podiatrist, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, registered nurse, nurse midwife, school nurse, infection control practitioner, medical examiner, coroner, or dentist. (California Code of Regulations Title 17 -- 17CCR§§2500, 2505, 2508)

What to Report:
Currently about 85 diseases or conditions are reportable in California, as listed in Section 2500(j) and as per lists at the links below.  Note that the state Department of Public Health periodically revises the state's list used by all LHDs; note also that LHDs might list additional diseases that they need to track locally that aren't on the state's list and which might vary by local jurisdiction. 

Where and how to report:
Reports must be submitted to the local health department (LHD) of the patient's jurisdiction of residence. All southern California counties plus cities of Pasadena and Long Beach operate their own LHDs. Thus LA County (LAC) DPH accepts case reports only on LA County residents but not Long Beach or Pasadena residents.



Other Reporting Resources

Vaccine Adverse Events Reporting System (not reported to LAC DPH):
Federal law requires health professionals to report specific adverse events that occur after the administration of routinely recommended vaccines to the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).:
        VAERS

Meaningful Use:
Technical assistance and information to help healthcare  providers successfully navigate required electronic reporting:
        Meaningful Use Coordinator  

More information: (NOTE: archival -- content and forms may be outdated .)

To Access the Law Further:

California Code of Regulations, Title 17. Public Health
    Division 1. State Department of Health Services
       Chapter 4. Preventive Medical Service
          Subchapter 1. Reportable Diseases and Conditions
              Article 1. Reporting
                    2500. Reporting to the Local Health Authority.
                    2505. Notification by Laboratories.
                    2508. Reporting by Schools.
         Subchapter 2.5. Disorders Characterized by Lapses of Consciousness

California Medical Practice Act:
   Business and Professions Code - BPC. Division 2. HEALING ARTS.
      CHAPTER 5. Medicine [2000 - 2521]
          Article 12. Enforcement [2220 - 2319]