Advisory Board

Community Advisory Board

The Community Prevention and Population Health Taskforce is tasked with reporting to the Board of Supervisors on health, equity and community wellbeing. As the Center's Advisory Board, the Taskforce makes recommendations on policies and practices to improve health equity across the county. The Taskforce also oversees the Department of Public Health’s ongoing community health planning efforts to improve population health for all LA County community members.

Advisory Board Members

Members are appointed for a two-year term by the LA County Board of Supervisors and a self-nomination application process. The current members are:

Sonya Young Aadam

California Black Women’s Health Project

Manal Aboelata

Prevention Institute

Mayra Alvarez

The Children’s Partnership

Tamika Butler

Los Angeles Neighborhood Land Trust

Melinda Cordero-Bárzaga

Visión y Compromiso

*Veronica Flores

Community Health Councils

Michelle Fluke

Antelope Valley Partners for Health

Cathy Friedman

Peace Over Violence

Anisha Hingorani

Advancement Project

Nancy Halpern Ibrahim

Esperanza Community Housing

Anne-Marie Jones

The LA84 Foundation

Nomsa Khalfani

Essential Access Health

Jim Mangia

St. John’s Well Child and Family Centers

Ramella Markarian

Adventist Health Glendale

Damon Nagami

Natural Resources Defense Council

Lauren Nakano

Beach Cities Health District

Elisa Nicholas

The Children’s Clinic

Theresa Nitescu

Northeast Valley Health Corporation

Janae Oliver

Kaiser Permanente

Maryjane Puffer

The Los Angeles Trust for Children’s Health

Cori Racela

Western Center on Law & Poverty

Margaret Smith

Policy Council, Los Angeles County Office of Women’s Health

Amanda Staples

Investing in Place

Benjamin Torres

Community Development Technologies Center

Nicole Wong

Redeemer Community Partnership

*Task Force Co-Chair

Learn more about the Community Prevention and Population Health Taskforce here