Laws and Regulations Relating to RABIES

Excerpts from the California Health and Safety Code and the California Code of Regulations

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
DIVISION OF COMMUNICABLE DISEASE CONTROL
INFECTIOUS DISEASES BRANCH
VETERINARY PUBLIC HEALTH SECTION
1616 CAPITOL AVENUE, M/S 7308
P. O. BOX 997377
SACRAMENTO, CA 95899-7377

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/HealthInfo/discond/Pages/rabies.aspx

Please refer to http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/ and http://www.calregs.com/ for the most up to date information

Updated December 2014



1

2606. Rabies, Animal.

(a) Reporting. Any person having knowledge of the whereabouts of an animal known to have or suspected of having rabies shall report the facts immediately to the local health officer. The health officer shall likewise be notified of any person or animal bitten by a rabid or suspected rabid animal.

In those areas declared by the Director of the State Department of Health Services to be rabies areas (See Section 121585, California Health and Safety Code) the local health officer shall be notified when any person is bitten by an animal of a species subject to rabies, whether or not the animal is suspected of having rabies.

- **(b) Isolation**. Any rabid animal, clinically suspected rabid animal, or biting animal shall be isolated in strict confinement as follows:
- (1) Isolation of Rabid Animals or Clinically Suspected Rabid Animals. Any rabid animal or clinically suspected rabid animal shall be isolated in strict confinement under proper care and under the observation of a licensed veterinarian, in a pound, veterinary hospital, or other adequate facility in a manner approved by the local health officer, except where such responsibility has been delegated to a comparable officer by the governing body, and shall not be killed or released for at least 10 days after the onset of symptoms suggestive of rabies, with the exception that such animals may be sacrificed with permission of the local health officer for the purpose of laboratory examination for rabies using the fluorescent rabies antibody (FRA) test in an approved public health laboratory.
- (2) Isolation of Biting Animals. At the discretion of the local health officer any animal which bites or otherwise exposes a person shall be isolated in strict confinement in a place and manner approved by the local health officer and observed for at least 14 days (dogs and cats 10 days) after the day of infliction of the bite, with the exception that the following alternative to the 10 day isolation of dogs and cats is permitted -- dogs or cats which have been isolated in strict confinement under proper care and under observation of a licensed veterinarian, in a pound, veterinary hospital, or other adequate facility in a manner approved by the local health officer, may be released from isolation by the local health officer after five days of veterinary observation if upon conducting a thorough physical examination on the fifth day or more after infliction of the bite, the observing veterinarian certifies that there are no clinical signs or symptoms of any disease. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, a local health officer may authorize, with permission of the owner and other legal restrictions permitting, the euthanasia of a biting animal for the purpose of laboratory examination for rabies using the fluorescent rabies antibody (FRA) test in an approved public health laboratory.
- (3) Isolation of Biting Animals in Officially Declared Rabies Areas. In officially declared rabies areas (see Section 121585, California Health and Safety Code) the isolation described in paragraph (2) above shall be mandatory for any animal of a species subject to rabies that has bitten or otherwise exposed a person, with the exception of rodents (members of the order Rodentia) and rabbits and hares (members of the order Lagomorpha).
- (4) Laboratory Examination of Rabid Animals, Clinically Suspected Rabid Animals or Biting Animals Which Die or Have Been Killed. If any rabid animal, clinically suspected rabid animal or biting animal dies or has been killed, adequate specimens shall be obtained and examined in a public health laboratory approved by

the department. No person shall destroy or allow to be destroyed the brain of an animal of a species subject to rabies that has bitten or otherwise exposed a person before the destruction of such brain has been authorized by the local health department; provided, however, that the provisions of this paragraph (4) shall not apply to rodents (members of the order Rodentia) and rabbits or hares (members of the order Lagomorpha).

- **(c) Animal Contacts**. Any animal of a species subject to rabies which has been bitten by a known rabid or suspected rabid animal or has been in intimate contact with a rabid or suspected rabid animal shall be quarantined in a place and manner approved by the local health officer, except where such responsibility has been delegated to a comparable officer by the local governing body, for a period of six months or destroyed, with the exception that the following alternatives are permitted in the case of dogs and cats as follows:
- (1) If a dog over one year of age has been vaccinated against rabies within 36 months but not less than 30 days with a rabies vaccine of a type approved by the Department for a maximum immunity duration of at least 36 months, the dog may be revaccinated immediately (within 48 hours) in a manner prescribed by the Department and quarantined in a place and manner approved by the local health officer for a period of 30 days following revaccination.
- (2) If a dog under one year of age has been vaccinated against rabies within 12 months but not less than 30 days with a rabies vaccine of a type approved by the Department, the dog may be revaccinated immediately (within 48 hours) in a manner prescribed by the Department and quarantined in a place and a manner approved by the local health officer for a period of 30 days.
- (3) If a cat has been vaccinated within one year but not less than 30 days with an annual type feline rabies vaccine or if a cat has been vaccinated under one year of age with a 36-month type of feline rabies vaccine within 12 months but not less than 30 days, the cat may be revaccinated immediately (within 48 hours) in a manner prescribed by the Department and quarantined in a place and manner approved by the local health officer for a period of 30 days following revaccination.
- (4) If a cat over one year of age has been vaccinated against rabies and has been vaccinated within 36 months and more than 30 days with a 36-month type feline rabies vaccine, the cat may be revaccinated immediately (within 48 hours) in a manner prescribed by the Department and quarantined in a place and manner approved by a local health officer for a 30-day period following revaccination.

NOTE

Authority cited: Sections 100275, 121610 and 120130, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 121580, 121600, 121610, 121620 and 120130, Health and Safety Code.

HISTORY

- 1. Amendment filed 5-5-71; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 71, No.19). For prior history see Register 65, No. 8.
- 2. Amendment of subsection (c) filed 5-20-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 21).
- 3. Amendment filed 1-27-86; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 86, No. 5).

2606.2. Rabies Quarantine.

If rabies is known to exist within an area, the local health officer may establish a rabies quarantine and shall define the boundaries of the quarantine area and specify the animals subject to quarantine, and all such animals within the quarantined area shall be kept in strict confinement upon the private premises of the owner, keeper or harborer at all times until the quarantine is terminated by the local health officer.

NOTE

Authority cited: Sections 100110, 100275, 121575-121710 and 120435 Health and Safety Code.

HISTORY

- 1. New section filed 12-19-57; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 57, No. 22).
- 2. Amendment filed 5-5-71; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 71, No.19).

2606.4. Officially Declared Rabies Areas.

- (a) Administration and Enforcement. For purposes of administration and enforcement of section 121690, California Health and Safety Code, in officially declared rabies areas, the following shall apply:
- (1) Licensing and Vaccination Procedure. The vaccination of dogs three months of age or older as required by subdivision (b), section 121690, California Health and Safety Code, shall be held a requisite to licensing as required under subdivision (a) therein. Completion of the licensing procedure consists of issuance of a license tag or a vaccination tag bearing the license data and shall be carried out only after presentation of a current valid official vaccination certificate. Current copies of the Compendium of Canine Rabies Vaccines approved by the Department, together with the maximum immunity duration periods prescribed by the Department for each type product, are available on the Veterinary-Public Health Section, Infectious Diseases Branch, California Department of Public Health website or upon request at vetph@cdph.ca.gov.
- (2) Vaccination Certificates. Official vaccination certificates must show:
- (A) the name, address and telephone number of the dog's owner;
- (B) the description of the dog, including breed, color, age, and sex;
- (C) the date of immunization;
- (D) the type of rabies vaccine administered;
- (E) the name of the manufacturer; and
- (F) the lot number of the vaccine used.

Such certificates shall bear the signature of the veterinarian administering the vaccine or a signature authorized by him, and in addition such certificate shall be stamped, printed, or typed with his name, address and telephone number for legibility, with the exception that at dog vaccination clinics conducted pursuant to section 121690(f) of the Health and Safety Code, vaccination certificates approved by the local health officer may be used provided that the specific clinic is identified upon the vaccination certificate and records are maintained containing the information specified under items (E) and (F) above.

(3) Interval Permitted for Procurement of License. The vaccination of dogs four months of age against rabies as required under subdivision (b), section 121690, California Health and Safety Code, and the license required by subdivision (a) of said section shall be procured not later than 30 days after the dog attains the age of four

months. The license renewal shall be procured not later than 60 days after expiration of the previously issued license.

- (4) Rabies Control Activities Reporting. During such time as a county is under official declaration as a rabies area, each local official responsible for the various phases of local dog or rabies control within each city, county and city or cities, or county shall make quarterly rabies control activities reports to and on forms furnished by the Department. Such reports shall be submitted to the Department by the local officials responsible for the various phases of local dog or rabies control through the local health officer so as to reach the Department not later than 30 days following each quarter.
- **(b) Vaccination of Dogs Against Rabies.** Dogs shall be considered to be properly vaccinated for the purposes of section 121690, California Health and Safety Code, when injected at three months of age or older with an approved canine rabies vaccine and revaccinated in accordance with the following conditions:
- (1) **Primary Immunization.** Primary immunization shall be defined as the initial inoculation of an approved canine rabies vaccine administered to dogs aged three months or older.
- (2) Minimum Age for Rabies Vaccination. The minimum age for which rabies immunization of dogs shall be accepted for purposes of dog-owner compliance with requirements for rabies vaccination and for purposes of issuance of dog licenses (See section 2606.4(a)(1)) is three months.
- **(3) Revaccination Intervals.** Dogs shall be revaccinated one year (12 months) after the primary immunization with an approved type of rabies vaccine. Dogs shall be revaccinated thereafter at least once every three years (36 months) with an approved type rabies vaccine.
- **(c) Issuance of Dog Licenses.** In no instances shall a dog license be issued for a period beyond the date upon which revaccination is due except, following primary immunization in a local jurisdiction which is on a fixed one-year licensing period, a license may be issued for a period beyond the revaccination date if early revaccination cannot be required in accordance with subdivision (d).
- (d) Notwithstanding the rabies revaccination intervals specified in section 2606.4(b)(3) above, local authorities may require revaccination prior to issuance of a license provided that revaccination against rabies in no instance shall be required sooner than one year (12 months) following a primary immunization or sooner than 2 years (24 months) following a vaccination of dogs vaccinated over one year (12 months) of age.

NOTE

Authority cited: Sections 121690 and 131200, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 121690 and 131200, Health and Safety Code.

HISTORY

- 1. New section filed 12-19-57; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 57, No. 22).
- 2. Amendment filed 5-5-71; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 71, No. 19).
- 3. Amendment filed 5-20-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 21).
- 4. Amendment filed 1-27-86; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 86, No. 5).
- 5. Change without regulatory effect amending section and Note filed 10-13-2014 pursuant to section 100, title 1, California Code of Regulations (Register 2014, No. 42).

2606.6. Importation of Dogs.

All dogs four months of age or older imported into this State for any purpose shall be accompanied by a certificate issued by a licensed veterinarian, stating that the dog or dogs have been vaccinated against rabies within 30 months of the date of importation of the dogs vaccinated over 12 months of age or within 12 months for dogs vaccinated under 12 months of age with a canine rabies vaccine of a type approved by the Department for an immunity duration of at least 36 months.

NOTE

Authority cited: Sections 100275 and 121610, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 121610 and 121690(b), Health and Safety Code.

HISTORY

- 1. New section filed 12-19-57; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 57, No. 22).
- 2. Amendment filed 5-5-71; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 71, No. 19).
- 3. Amendment filed 5-20-77; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 77, No. 21).
- 4. Amendment filed 1-27-86; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 86, No. 5).

Skunk Rabies.

- (a) Due to the presence of rabies in skunks in California and in many other states, and the resultant hazard to the public health of rabies developing in skunks kept as pets, no person shall:
- (1) trap or capture skunks for pets,
- (2) trap, capture or hold skunks in captivity for sale, barter, exchange or gift,(3) transport skunks from or into the state except as provided under (b) below.
- **(b)** The importation of skunks into California or the exportation of skunks from the State is prohibited except by permit from the California Department of Health Services to a recognized zoological garden or a research institution.

NOTE

Authority cited: Sections 100275, and 121610, Health and Safety Code. References: Section 121610, Health and Safety Code.

HISTORY

- 1. New section filed 10-1-62; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 62, No. 21).
- 2. Amendment filed 1-27-86; effective thirtieth day thereafter (Register 86, No. 5).