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Population/Group 
 

Regulatory Authority 
 
Law, Regulation and/or Policy Directives 

 

 
Enforcement 

 
K-12 teachers, 
employees, contractors & 
volunteers  
 
(Public, Private, Charter) 
 
 
 

 
CA Department of Education (CDE) 
Services for Administration, Finance, 
Technology, & Infrastructure Branch,  
Personnel Services Division,  
916-319-0896 
Fax: 916-319-0511 
1430 N St. Sacto, CA. 95814 

 
Education Code (EC) 49406  
Health & Safety Code (HSC) sections 121525-
121555   
A TB risk assessment is administered within 
60 days of hire and if risk factors are identified, 
a TB test and examination should be performed 
by a health care provider to determine that the 
person is free of infectious TB.  Form required is 
TCB-01 with a signed certificate of completion.  
Repeat risk assessments every 4 years (unless 
otherwise required).  
 

 
Delegated to the Local 
Superintendent of Schools  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
K-12 students  

 
Local Health Officers (LHO) 

 
HSC 121475-121520,HSC121490 
School entrants require a TB risk assessment 
and if indicated, a test. Form typically used is 
the PM 171A-Report of Health Exam for School 
Entry. 
 

 
LHO have the authority to 
regulate; no statewide 
requirement 

 
Community College 
employees in an 
academic or classified 
position 

 
California Community Colleges 
Board of Governors and the 
Chancellor's Office, 
Eloy Ortiz Oakley (916) 322-4005 
 

 
EC 87408.6 -SB 1038 is effective on 1-1-2017.  
 
A TB risk assessment is administered within 
60 days of hire and if risk factors are identified, 
a TB test and examination should be performed 
by a health care provider to determine that the 
person is free of infectious TB. Form required is 
TCB-01 with a signed certificate of completion. 
Repeat risk assessments every 4 years (unless 
otherwise required). 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
State level- Board of 
Governors, Chancellor and 
locally, the governing board 
of the community college 
district 

 
Childcare or Day Care 
Center employees 
classified as teachers  

 
Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing Division  
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 

 
HSC 1597.055 - SB 792 (2015) provided the 
alternative of a TB risk assessment 
administered not more than 1 year prior or 7 
days after employment or licensure as part of 

 
Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing 
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(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 
 

facility personnel health screening (Form 503). If 
risk factors are identified, a TB test and 
examination should be performed by a health 
care provider to determine that the person is 
free of infectious TB.  No repeat exam. 
 

requirements through 
licensing visits by Licensing 
Program Analysts (LPAs) 
Evaluator Transmittal No. 
16APX-16 -Appendix A- 
2015 Chaptered Legislation 

 
Child Care or Day Care 
Center employees  & 
volunteers other than 
teachers  
 

 
California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 
 

 
California Code of Regulations (CCR) Title 22, 
Section 101216 
TB testing result required as part of facility 
personnel health screening (Form 503) 
not more than 1 year prior or 7 days after 
employment or licensure. No repeat exam. 
 

 
Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing 
requirements through 
licensing visits by Licensing 
Program Analysts (LPAs) 

 
Adult  applicants 
applying for licensure as 
a family day care home or 
any adult in the home 
during the time that 
children are under care 
 

 
California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 

 
HSC Section 1597.54 SB 792 (2015) provided 
the alternative of a TB risk assessment 
administered not more than 1 year prior or 7 
days after employment or licensure as part of 
facility personnel health screening (Form 503). If 
risk factors are identified, a TB test and 
examination should be performed by a health 
care provider to determine that the person is 
free of infectious TB.  No repeat exam. 
 

 
Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing 
requirements through 
licensing visits by Licensing 
Program Analysts (LPAs) 
Evaluator Transmittal No. 
16APX-16 -Appendix A- 
2015 Chaptered Legislation 

 
Children in Child Care 
Centers (excludes services 
without a contract or 
agreement between the 
parent and center for 
regular care of child) 

 
California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 
 

 
CCR Title 22 Section 101220. All children must 
be evaluated for TB risk factors as part of the 
medical assessment required for admission. 
(Form 701 or PM 171A) prior to, within 30 
calendar days following child’s enrollment. 
Medical assessment should not be more than 
one year old when obtained. 

 
Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 

 
Students attending 
California Schools for the 
Deaf (Fremont & 
Riverside) & Blind 
(Fremont) 

 
CA Department of Education 

 
EC 59150 
Students are tested for exposure to TB at least 
once every 2 years. The results shall be 
provided to the school director. The parent or 
guardian of the student is responsible for the 
cost 
 
 
 

 
CDE- Student Support & 
Special Services Branch  
-State Special Schools &    
Services Division 
Special School Director 
 
  



TB Screening Mandates for Various Groups   November 8, 2016 
 

 
Health Care Workers 

 
CDPH Licensing & Certification 
1615 Capitol Avenue, MS 0512 
Sacto, CA. 95899 
(916) 324-6630 
 
 
Cal OSHA 
 
 
 

 
California Code of Regulation (CCR) Title 22, 
Div. 5, Ch.1-12  
CCR Title 8, Section 5199, Aerosol 
Transmissible Diseases Standard; Respiratory 
Protection Standard CCR Title 8 Section 5144; 
CTCA/CDPH TB Guidelines   

 
CDPH Licensing & 
Certification enforces 
licensing requirements for 
hire & annual testing. 
Notifies health care facilities 
of policy changes through All 
Facility Letters 
 
Cal-OSHA  enforces 
employer requirements 

 
Head Start employees & 
volunteers 

 
Federal program authorized under 
federal law 

 
45 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Chapter 
XIII, Subchapter B, Part 1302.93 and 1302.94 
Head Start Staff Health & Wellness: Federal 
Register 9/6/2016. Programs must ensure each 
staff member has an initial health exam in 
accordance with state, tribal, or local 
requirements, that include screens or tests for 
communicable diseases.  The program must 
ensure staff does not, because of 
communicable diseases, pose a significant risk 
to the health or safety of others in the program.  
No prescribed timeframe for re-examination is 
stated so that  
 
 
 
 

  
 

 
Home Care Aides  
 
Effective January 1, 2015  
(If hired prior to January 1, 
2015, TB exam required 
before 7/1/15)  
 
 

 
Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing Division 
1615 Capitol Avenue, MS 0512 
Sacto, CA. 95899 
(916) 324-6630 

 
Health and Safety Code, Division 2 Section 1. 
Chapter 13 (commencing with Section 1796.10)  
Chapter 13. Home Care Services. 
TB  testing 90 days prior or within 7 days after 
hire and every two years thereafter 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing 
requirements 

 
Participants of Substance 
Use Disorder Treatment 
Programs 

 
DHCS Drug Medi-Cal Licensing & 
Certification 
Marlies Perez, Acting Chief 

 
CCR Title 9, Section 10567- participants: TB 
test or IGRA not more than 6 months prior to or 
30 days after admission.  

 
Department of Health Care 
Services enforces licensing 
requirements.  
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Personnel of Alcohol & 
Drug Treatment Programs 
including volunteers 
 

1700 K Street,  
Sacto, CA 95811 
916-327-9223 
Marlies.Perez@dhcs.ca.gov  
 
 

 
CCR Title 9, Section 10564(e)(B)(1) personnel: 
a test for tuberculosis performed not more than 
sixty (60) days prior to or seven (7) days after 
initial presence in the facility and annually 
thereafter 
Section 10564(e)(B)(3)volunteers: same as for 
personnel 
 

 
First Responders 
EMTs, Paramedics, 
Firefighters, Law 
Enforcement 
 
 
 

 
California Emergency Medical 
Services Authority, 
Dr. Howard Backer, Director 
10901 Gold Center Drive, Suite 400 
 Rancho Cordova, CA 95670-6073 
 Phone: (916) 322-4336 
Cal OSHA 

 
CCR Title 8, section 5199 ATD Standard. This 
standard requires annual TB tests and 
mandated medical follow-up if the test indicates 
positive for TB. Respiratory Protection Standard 
CCR Title 8 Section 5144 

 
Employer & Cal OSHA 

 
Recreational employees 
or food concessionaire 
having contact with 
children in parks, 
playground, recreational 
center, or beach 
 

 
Parks & Recreation Departments of 
state and local governments 

 
Public Resources Code  
Section 5163 
TB testing on hire and every 4 years 

? 

 
Correctional inmates, 
parolees & employees 

 
Jails: CA Corrections Standards 
Authority 
 
State Prisons: CA Dept of 
Corrections & Rehab 
 

 
Jails: 2008 Adult Title 15 Regulations and the 
Penal Code Section 6030 
 
Prisons: Penal Code Sections 3053, 6006-6009, 
7570-7576 

 

 


