## COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES COMMISSION ON ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUGS

## Meeting Minute Summary December 11, 2024

**COMMISSIONERS PRESENT:** Commissioners Tony Bell, Rebecca Birotte, Bruce Boardman, Deena Duncan, Christina Gonzales, Jack Hadjinian, Tonya McKenzie, Mark Mendoza, Jr., Juan Navarro, Charles Robbins, Ruben Rodriguez, Bennett Root, Jr., Avia Rosen, Johng Ho Song and Howard Winkler

**COMMISSIONERS REQUESTING EXCUSED ABSENCES:** Commissioners Amanda Cowan, Jozef Essavi, Alicia Garoupa, Ana Maria Quintana, Jerry Velasco, and G. Lola Worthington

**UNEXCUSED ABSENCES: N/A** 

**GUEST REGISTER:** Health Deputies: 1<sup>st</sup> District – Jazmine Garcia-Delgadillo; 2<sup>nd</sup> District; 3<sup>rd</sup> District – Aaron Fox; 5<sup>th</sup> District – Corey Anders, Dr. Gary Tsai

**MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED:** Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs December 11, 2024 Agenda; Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs November 13, 2024 Minutes – Draft

	Topic	Discussion/Finding
1.	Call to Order & Introduction of Commissioners and Guests	Chair Tony Bell, County of Los Angeles, the Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs convened the meeting at 12:40 P.M.  Chair Tony Bell asked for self-introductions from all Commissioners and guests.  Quorum present.
2.	Public Comments	No public comment.
3.	Action on AB2449 and Excuse Absence	Commissioners Amanda Cowan, Jozef Essavi, Ana Maria Quintana, Jerry Velasco, and G. Lola Worthington have asked to be excused from the December 11 meeting.  Commissioners Mark Mendoza, Jr., Bennett Root, Jr. and Avia Rosen are appearing remotely for today's meeting by "just cause" in accordance with AB 2449.  Chair Tony Bell entertained a motion which was moved to approve by Commissioner Howard Winkler and seconded by Commissioner Tonya McKenzie.  Motion was unanimously carried.

	Tonio	Discussion/Finding
	Topic	Discussion/Finding
4.	Action on Meeting Minutes for November 2024 meeting	Chair Tony Bell entertained a motion which was moved to approve by Commissioner Jack Hadjinian and seconded by Commissioner Christina Gonzales.  Motion was carried with two Abstention from Commissioner Tonya McKenzie and Bennett Root, Jr.
5.	Roundtable Meeting with Health Deputies	The following Health Deputies were present at the meeting:  1 <sup>st</sup> District – Jazmine Garcia-Delgadillo  2 <sup>nd</sup> District – Victoria Gomez and Yolanda Vera  3 <sup>rd</sup> District – Aaron Fox  5 <sup>th</sup> District – Corey Anders  The Health Deputies provided an overview of the Behavioral Health Commission.  The Commissioners' voiced their concerns, thoughts, and recommendations for the forthcoming formation of the Behavioral Health Commission.
6.	Action on Dissolution of Ad hoc Committee	Chair Tony Bell entertained a motion which was moved to approve by Commissioner Jack Hadjinian and seconded by Commissioner Christina Gonzales.  Motion was unanimously carried.
	Action on Nominating Committee	Chair Tony Bell recommended the following commissioners to participate on the nominating committee:  • 1st District – Jack Hadjinian  • 2nd District – Tonya McKenzie  • 3rd District – Bruce Boardman  • 4th District – Deena Duncan  • 5th District – Tony Bell  Chair Tony Bell entertained a motion which was moved to approve by Commissioner Bennett Root, Jr. and seconded by Commissioner Mark Mendoza, Jr.  Motion was unanimously carried.
8.	Discussion on 2024 Annual Report	Chair Tony Bell informed the Commissioners to review the draft Annual Report and submit changes to Jessie by December 31, 2024.
9.	Comments from Commissioners on Items of Interest	Chair Tony Bell encouraged Commissioners to meet with their Health Deputies after the meeting to voice their concerns on the Behavioral Health Commission.  Commissioner Ruben Rodriguez suggested to make a recommendation to their respective supervisors in regards to marijuana dispensaries in unincorporated areas. Chair Tony Bell asked Commissioner Ruben Rodriguez to forward the information to Jessie to be agendized for the next meeting.

Topic	Discussion/Finding
10. Adjournment	Meeting was adjourned at 2:10 P.M.

Next meeting date: January 8, 2025, at 12:30 p.m. Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration 500 W. Temple Avenue, Sybil Brand Commission Room, Suite 372 Los Angeles, California 90012