CHILD ABUSE REPORTING
ELLDER/DEPENDENT ADULT ABUSE REPORTING
DOMESTIC/INTIVIATE PARTNER VIOLENCE REPORTING
SEXUAL ABUSE/SEXUAL COERCION/SEXUAL MISCONDUCT
REPORTING SUSPICIOUS INJURIES

The following policy statements apply to all Los Angeles County Workforce Members.
“Workforce Members” includes employees, volunteers, trainees, and any other persons who
perform work under the control of Department of Public Heaith (DPH), whether or not they are
paid by the County. “Employ/employment” as referenced in the statements below includes non-
County workforce members assignments to a DPH Program.

CHILD ABUSE REPORTING

California Penal Code Section 11168.5 requires Los Angeles County DPH to provide all mandated
reporters who commence employment or are assigned to a Los Angeles County DPH facility on and
after January 1, 1985, with the following statement. California law requires this statement fo be signed
by the workforce member as a prerequisite to employment or assignment and be retained by Los
Angeles County DPH.

Section 11166 of the Penal Code requires a mandated reporter who, in his/her professional
capacity or within the scope of his/her employment or assignment, has knowledge of or observes
a child whom the mandated reporter knows or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child
abuse or neglect to report the known or suspected abuse immediately or as soon as practicably
possible by telephone and to prepare and send, fax or electronically submit a written follow-up
report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident. The report
shall be prepared on the Department of Justice (DOJ) Form 888572 may include any non-
privileged documentary evidence the mandated reporter possesses related to the incident.

If after reasonable efforts, a mandated reporter is unable to submit an initial report by telephone, he or
she shall immediately or as soon as practicably possible, by fax or electronic submission, make a one-
time automated written report on the DOJ Form $88572 and shall also be available to respond fo a
telephone follow-up call by the agency in which he or she filed the reporf. The report must also indicate
the reason why the mandated reporter was not able to make an initial report by telephone.

Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect pursuant to Section 11166 or Section 11166.05 shall
include the name, business address, and telephone number of the mandated reporter; the capacity that
makes the person a mandated reporter; and the information that gave rise to the reasonable suspicion
of child abuse or neglect and the source or sources of that information. If a report is made, the
following information, if known, shall also be included in the report: the child’s name, the child's
address, present location, and, if applicable school, grade, and class; the names, addresses, and
telephone numbers of the child’s parents or guardians; and the name, address, telephone number, and
other relevant personal information about the person or persons who might have abused or neglected
the child. The mandated reporter shall make a report even if some of this information is not known or is
uncertain to him or her.

This reporting requirement exists even if the child has expired, regardless of whether or not the
possible abuse was a factor contributing to the death, and even if the suspected abuse was discovered
during an autopsy.
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The identity of all persons who report under these provisions shall be confidential and disclosed only
among agencies receiving or investigating mandated reports, to the prosecutor in a criminal
prosecution or in an action initiated under Section 602 of the Welfare and Institutions Code arising from
alleged child abuse, or to counsel appointed pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 317 of the Welfare
and institutions Code, or to the county counsel or prosecutor in a proceeding under Part 4
{commencing with Section 7800) of Division 12 of the Family Code or Section 300 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code, or to a licensing agency when abuse or neglect in out-of-home care is reasonably
suspected, or when those persons waive confidentiality, or by court order.

Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect shall be made by mandated reporiers to the local law
enforcement agency, county probation or county welfare departments. Child abuse reports may be
made directly to the Los Angeles County Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) through
their website at http://dcfs.co.la.ca.us or their 24-hour hotline at (800) 540-4000. Written reports may
also be faxed to DCFS at (213) 639-1321.

DEFINITIONS

Mandated Reporter — A teacher, An instructional aide, A teacher’s aide or teacher’s assistant employed
by any public or private school, A classified employee of any public school, An administrative officer or
suparvisor of child welfare and attendance, or a certificated pupil personne! employee of any public or
private school, An administrator of a public or private day camp, An administrator or employee of a
‘public or private youth center, youth recreation program, or youth organization, An administrator or
employee of a public or private organization whose duties require direct contact and supervision of
children, An employee of a county office of education or the California Department of Education, whose
duties bring the employee into contact with children on a regular basis, A licensee, an administrator, or
an employee or a licensed community care or child day care facility, A Head Start program teacher, A
licensing worker or licensing evaluator employed by a licensing agency as defined in Section 11165.11,

A public assistance worker, An employee of a child care institution, including, but not limited to, foster
parents, group home personnel, and personnel of residential care facilities, A social worker, probation
officer, or parole officer, An employee of a school district police or security depariment, Any person
who is an administrator or presenter of, or a counselor in, a child abuse prevention program in any
public or private school, A district atiorney investigator, inspector, or local child support agency
caseworker unless the investigator, inspector, or caseworker is working with an attorney appointed
pursuant to Section 317 of the Welfare and Institutions Code to represent a miner, A peace officer, as
defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, who is not otherwise
described in this section,

A firefighter, except for volunteer firefighters,

A physician, surgeon, psychiatrist, psychologist, dentist, resident, intern, podiatrist, chiropractor,
licensed nurse, dental hygienist, optometrist, marriage, family, and child counselor, clinical social
worker or any other person who is currently licensed under Division 2 (commencing with Section 500)
of the Business and Professions Code, Any emergency medical technician | or Il, paramedic, or other
person certified pursuant to Division 2.5 (commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety
Code, A psychological assistant registered pursuant to Section 2913 of the Business and Professions
Code, A marriage, family, and child therapist trainee, as defined in subdivision (c) of Section 4980.03
of the Business and Professions Code, An unlicensed marriage, family and child therapist intern
registered under Section 4980.44 of the Business and Professions Code, A state or county public
health employee who treats a minor for venereal disease or any other condition,
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A coroner, A medical examiner, or any other person who performs autopsies, A commercial film and
photographic print processor, as specified in subdivision (g) of Section 11168. As used in this article,
“sommercial film and photographic print processor” means any person who develops exposed
photographic film into negatives, slides, prints, or who makes prints from negatives or slides, for
compensation. The term includes any employee of such a person; it does not inciude a person who
develops film or makes prints for a public agency, a child visitation monitor. As used in this article,
“child visitation monitor” means any person who, for financial compensation, acts as monitor of a visit
between a child and any other person when the monitoring of that visit has been ordered by a court of
law.

Animal control officer or humane society officer. For the purposes of this article, the following items
have the followihg meanings:

(A)  “Animal control officer” means any person employed by a city, county, or city and county for the
purpose of enforcing animal control laws or regulations.

(B)  "Humane society officer’ means any person appointed or employed by a public or private entity
as a humane officer who is qualified pursuant to Section 14502 or 14503 of the Corporations
Code.

A clergy member, specified in subdivision (d) of Section 11166. As used in this article, "clergy
member” means a priest, minister, rabbi, religious practitioner, or similar functionary of a church,
temple, or recognized denomination or organization, Any custodian of records of a clergy member, as
specified in this section and subdivision (d) of Section 11168,

Any employee of any police department, county sheriff's department, county probation department, or
county welfare department, An employee or volunteer of a Court Appointed Special Advocate program,
as defined in Rule 1424 of the California Rules of Court, A custodial officer as defined in Section 831.5,

Any person providing services to a minor child under Section 12300 or 12300.1 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code.

Except as provided in paragraph (35) of subdivision (a), volunteers of public or private organizations
whose duties require direct contact with and supervision of children are not mandated reporters but
are encouraged to obtain training in the identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect and are
further encouraged to report known or suspected instances of child abuse or neglect to any agency
specified in Section 11165.9. Child abuse reports may be made directly to the DCFS through their
website at hitp://dcfs.co.la.ca.us or their 24-hour hotline at (800) 540-4000.

Employers are strongly encouraged to provide their mandated reporters with training in the duties of a
mandated reporter: identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect. School districts that do not
train their mandated reporters must report the reasons why it was not done to the State Depariment
of Education. Public and private organizations are encouraged to provide their volunteers whose
duties involve direct contact with and supervision of children with training on identification and
reporting of child abuse and neglect. Absence of the training does not excuse a mandated reporter
from fulfilling their duties under these provisions.

Child — A “child” is defined as a person under the age of 18 years of age (Section 11165).
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Child abuse or Negiect - includes physical injury inflicted by other than accidental means upon a child
by another person, sexual abuse, neglect, the willful harming or injuring of a child or the endangering
of the person or health of a child (child endangerment), and unlawful corporal punishment or injury.
Child abuse or neglect does not include a mutual physical altercation between minors or injury
caused by reasonable and necessary force used by a police officer acting in the scope of his or her
employment as a police officer.

o Sexual Abuse — includes sexual assault or physical exploitation as defined in Section 11165.1
Neglect - the negligent treatment or the maltreatment of a child by a person responsible for the
child’'s welfare under circumstances indicating harm or threatened harm to the child’'s health or
welfare. The term includes both acts and omissions on the part of the responsible person. General
neglect includes the failure of a responsible person to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter,
medical care, or appropriate supervision. A child receiving medical treatment through spiritual
means cannot be automatically determined to be neglected on that basis.

e Willful Harming or Injuring/Endangering — the responsible person causes or permits any child to
suffer, inflicts unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or in having the care and custody of
any child, willfully causes or permits the person or health of the child to be placed in a situation in
which his or her person or health is endangered.

e Unlawful Corporal Punishment or injury — willfully infiicting upon any child by cruel or inhumane
corporal punishment or injury resulting in a traumatic condition. Does not include reasonable
force needed by a person employed by or engaged in public school to quell a disturbance, seif
defense, to take control of a weapon or other dangerous object or device.

Reasonable Suspicion — it is objectively reasonable for a person to entertain a suspicion, based upon
facts that could cause a reasonable person in a like position, drawing, when appropriate, on his or her
training and experience, to suspect child abuse or neglect. For the purpose of this article, the
pregnancy of a minor does not in, and of itself, constitute a basis for reasonable suspicion of sexual
abuse.

ELDER/DEPENDENT ADULT ABUSE REPORTING

California Welfare and Institutions Code Section 15659 requires Los Angeles County DPH to provide
all “care custodians,” "clergy member,” “health practioners,” and “employees of an adult protective
services agency” who enter into employment on or after January 1, 1995, with the following statement
prior to commencing his/her employment or assignment and as a prerequisite to that employment or
assignment. California law requires this statement to be signed by the workforce member as a
prerequisite to employment or assignment and be retained by the Los Angeles County DPH.

Section 15630(b) (1) of the Welfare and Institutions Code provides as follows:

Any mandated reporter who, in his or her professional capacity, or within the scope of his or her
employment, has observed or has knowledge of an incident that reasonably appears to be physical
abuse, as defined in Section 15610.63 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, abandonment,
abduction, Isolation, financial abuse, or neglect, or is told by an elder or dependent adult that he or
she has experienced behavior, including an act or omission, constituting physical abuse, as defined
in Section 15610.63 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, abandonment, abduction, isolation,
financial abuse, or neglect, or reasonably suspects that abuse, shall report the known or suspected
instance of abuse by telephone immediately or as soon as practicably possible, and by written
report within two working days, either fo the long-term care facility, or the either the County adult
protective agency or to a local law enforcement agency or other agency that licenses the facility
where the physical abuse is alleged to have occurred.
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DEFINITIONS

Care Custodian — An administrator or an employee of any of the following public or private facilities or
agencies, or persons providing care or services for elders or dependent adults, including members of the
support staff and maintenance staff.

Twenty-four-hour health facilities, as defined in Sections 1250,1250.2, and 1250.3 of the Health

and Safety Code.

Clinics

Home health agencies

Agencies providing publicly funded in-home supportive services, nutrition services, or other

home and community-based support services

Adult day health care centers and adult day care

Secondary schools that serve 18-to-22 year old dependent adults and postsecondary education

institutions that serve dependant adults or elders

independent living centers

Camps

Alzheimer's Disease day care resource centers

Community care facilities, as defined in Section 1502 of the Health and Safety Code, and

residential care facilities for the elderly, as defined in Section 1569.2 of the Health and Safety

Code

Respite care facilities

Foster homes

Vocational rehabilitation facilities and work activity centers

Designated area agencies on aging

Regional centers for persons with developmental disabilities

State Departmental of Social Services and State Department of Health Services licensing

divisions

County welfare departments

Offices of patients’ rights advocates and clients’ rights advocates, including attorneys

The office of the long-term care ombudsman

Offices of public conservators, public guardians, and court investigators

Any protection or advocacy agency or entity that is designed by the Governor to fulfill the

requirements and assurances of the following:

1) The federal Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 2000,

. contained in Chapter 144 (commencing with Section 15001) of Titie 42 of the
United States Code, for protection and advocacy of the rights of persons with
developmental disabilities.

2) The Protection and Advocacy for the Mentally i Individuals Act of 1986, as
amended, contained in Chapter 114 (commencing with Section 10801) of Title 42
of the United States Code, for protection and advocacy of the rights of persons
with mental iliness.

Humane societies and animal confrol agencies

Fire departments

Offices of environmental health and building code enforcement

Any other protective, public, sectarian, mental health, or private assistance or advocacy

agency or person providing health services or social services to elders and dependent

adults.



CHILD ABUSE REPORTING
Page 6

Health Practitioner — A physician and surgeon, psychiatrist, psychologist, dentist, resident,
intern, podiatrist, chiropractor, licensed nurse, dental hygienist, licensed clinical social worker or
associate clinical social worker, marriage, family and child counselor, or any other person who is
currently licensed under Division 2 (commenging with Section 500) of the Business and
Professions Code, any emergency medical technician { or Il, paramedic, or person certified
pursuant to Division 2.5 (commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code, a
psychological assistant registered pursuant to Section 2913 of the Business and Professions
Code, a marriage, family and child counselor trainee, as defined in subdivision (c) of section
4980.03 of the Business and Professions Code, or an unlicensed marriage, family, and child
counselor intern registered under Section 4980.44 of the Business and Professions Code, state
or county public health or social service employee who treats an elder or a dependent adult for
any condition, or a coroner.

Dependent Adult — Any person between the ages of 18 and 64 years who resides in this state
and who has physical or mental limitations that restrict his or her ability to carry out normal
activities or to profect his or her rights, including, but not limited to, persons who have physical
or developmental disabilities, or whose physical or mental abilities have diminished because of

age.

Dependent adult includes any person between the ages of 18 and 64 years who is admitted as
an inpatient to a 24-hour health facilities, as defined in Sections 1250, 1250.2 and 1250.3 of the
Health and Safety Code.

Elder — Any person residing in this state, 65 years of age or older.

Abuse — For purposes of elder or dependent adult, “abuse” means (a) physical abuse, neglect,
financial abuse, abandonment, isolation, abduction, or other treatment with resulting physical
harm or pain or mental suffering, (b) the deprivation by a care custodian of goods or services
that are necessary to avoid physical harm or mental suffering.

DOMESTIC/INTIMATE PARTNER VIOLENCE REPORTING

California Penal Code Section 11160 requires any health practitioner employed in a heaith
facility, clinic, physician’s office, local or state public health department, or a clinic or other fype
of facility operated by a local or state public health depariment who, in his or her professional
capacity or within the scope of his or her employment, provides medical services for a physical
condition to a patient whom he or she knows or reasonably suspects is a person described as
follows, shall immediately, or as soon as practically possible, make a report to local law
enforcement by telephone and a written report within two (2) working days of receiving
information regarding the person. .

e Any person suffering from any wound or other physical injury inflicted by his or her
own act or inflicted by another where the injury is by means of a firearm, or

° Any person suffering from any wound or other physical injury inflicted upon the
person where the injury is the resuit of assaultive or abusive conduct.
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DEFINITIONS

Assauitive and abusive conduct - includes murder, manslaughter, mayhem, aggravated
mayhem, torture, assault with intent to commit mayhem, rape, sodomy, or oral copulation,
administering controlied substance or anesthetic to aid in commission of a felony, battery,
sexual battery, incest, throwing any Vvitriol, corrosive acid, or caustic chemical with intent to
injure or disfigure, assault with a stun gun or taser, assault with a deadly weapon, firearm,
assault weapon, or machinegun, or by means likely to produce great bodily injury, rape, spousal
rape, procuring any maleffemale to have sex with another man/woman, child abuse or
endangerment, abuse of spouse or cohabitant, sodomy, lewd and lascivious acts with a child,
oral copulation, sexual penetration, elder abuse, an attempt to commit any crime specified
above in violation of the California Penal Code.

Domestic Viglence {(Penal Code 13700)

Abuse committed against an adult or a minor who is a spouse, former spouse, cohabitant,
former cohabitant, or person with whom the suspect has had a child or is having or has had a
dating or engagement relationship. “Cohabitant” means two (2) unrelated adult persons living
together for a substantial period of time, resulting in some permanency of relationship. Factors
that may determine whether persons are cohabitating include, but are not limited to, (1) sexual
relations between the parties while sharing the same living quarters, (2) sharing of income or
expenses, (3) joint use or ownership of property, (4) whether the parties hold themselves out as
husband and wife, (5) the continuity of the relationship, and (6) the length of the relationship.

Abuse - Intentionally or reckiessly causing or attempting to cause bodily injury, or placing
another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent serious bodily injury to himself or
herself or another, sexual assault, or engaging in any behavior that has been or could be
enjoined pursuant to Section 6320 such as molesting, attacking, striking, stalking, threatening,
battering, harassing. ' :

Health Practitioner — A physician and surgeon, psychiatrist, psychologist, dentist, resident,
intern, podiatrist, chiropractor, licensed nurse, dental hygienist, licensed clinical social worker or
associate clinical social worker, marriage, family and child counselor or any other person who is
currently licensed under Division 2 (commencing with Section 500) of the Business and
Professions Code, any emergency medical technician | or 1], paramedic, or person certified
pursuant to Division 2.5 (commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code, a
psychological assistant registered pursuant to Section 2813 of the Business and Professions
Code, a marriage, family and child counselor trainee, as defined in subdivision (¢) of Section
4980.03 of the Business and Professions Code, or an unlicensed marriage, family, and child
counselor intern registered under Section 4980.44 of the Business and Professions Code, state
or county public health or social service employee who treats an elder or a dependent aduit for
any condition, or a coroner.

Intimate Pariner ~ Intimate partners include current and former spouses (legal and common
law), current and former non-marital pariners (girlfriend/boyfriend relationship, same-sex
partners, dating partners (includes first date).
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Intimate Partner Violence — The threatened or actual use of physical force against an intimate
partner that either results in or has the potential to result in death, injury, or harm. Intimate
partner violence includes physical and sexual viclence, both of which are often accompanied by
psychological or emotional abuse. It may also include psychological or emotional abuse that
occurs without physical or sexual violence when such violence has previously been threatened
or committed during the relationship. Some common terms used to describe intimate partner
violence include domestic abuse, spouse abuse, domestic violence, couriship viclence,
battering, marital rape, and date rape. Domestic violence and intimate partner violence are
terms used interchangeably.

SEXUAL ABUSE/SEXUAL COERCION/SEXUAL MISCONDUCT (INAPPROPRIATE
BEHAVIOR TOWARD A PATIENT)

A workforce member is prohibited from engaging in any conduct of a sexual nature, either
intended or unintended, either with or in the presence of any member of the public or patient
with whom the workforce member interacts in any way in the performance of his or her work
duties. Examples of conduct which may be of a sexual nature include, but are not limited to,
verbal, visual, computer generated (e.g., e-mails), written or physical. Sexual misconduct
includes inappropriate work-related consensual sexual behavior, whether or not it involves other
persons or is done in the presence of other person.

Sexual contact between a health care worker and a patient is strictly prohibited and will
constitute sexual misconduct, sexual assault and/or abuse, this includes infercourse as well as
touching the patient's body with sexual intent. Unwanted or nonconsensual sexual contact {with
or absent of force) involving a patient and another patient, workforce member, unknown
perpetrator or spouse/significant other, while being treated or occurring on the premises of a
DPH Program may constitute a criminal act punishable by law.

Any workforce member who witnesses or reasonably believes that inappropriate contact and/or
sexual assault and/or abuse occurred to a patient must report it to his or her supervisor/fhead of
the department or Administrative officer of the Day (AOD), local law enforcement, the DPH
Quality Improvement & Patient Safety, and to the Risk Management hotline (562, 420:5959
following sentinel event reporting procedures.

if the violation involves a County workforce member, the DPH Performance Management unit
must also be contacted (323) 890-8466.

DEFINITIONS

Abuse — Intentionally or recklessly causing or attempting to cause bodily injury, or placing
another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent serious bodily injury to himseif or
herself, or another. Sexual abuse includes sexual harassment, sexual coercion and sexual
assault (JCAHO).
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REPORTING SUSPICIOUS INJURIES

In accordance with California Penal Code Section 11160, DPH requires any health practitioner
working in a DPH health facility who is his or her professional capacity or within the scope of his
or her assighment provides medical services to a patient who he or she knows or reasonably
suspects has a suspicious injury to report such injury by telephone to jocal law enforcement
immediately or as soon as practicable. Section 11160 requires the reporter to make a written
follow-up report within two (2) business days to the same local law enforcement agency.

A suspicious ihjury includes any wound or other physical injury that either was:

® inflicted by the injured person’s own act or by another where the injury was by
means of a firearm,
or

a Is suspected fo be the result of assaultive or abusive conduct inflicted upon the

injured person.

Health practitioners working in a DPH heaith facility who are engaged in compiling gvidence during a
forensic medical examination for a criminal investigation of sexual assault may be asked to release
the report to local law enforcement and other agencies, the reports must be prepared on specific
forms. Health practitioners must follow DPH HIPPA procedures documenting the release of such

information

RAdEA la/nRldAD




Section 11165.7 of the Penal Code reads:

11165.7. (a) As used in this ariicle, "mandated reporter” is defined as any of the following:

(1) A teacher.

(2) An instructional aide.

(3) A teacher's aide or teacher's assistant employed by any public or private school.

(4) A classified employee of any pubiic school. :

{5) An administrative officer or supervisor of child welfare and attendance, or a certificated pupil
personnet employee of any public or private school.

(6) An administrator of a public or private day camp.

(7) An administrator or employee of a public or private youth center, youth recreation program, or youth
organization. '

(8) An administrator or empioyee of a public or private organization whose duties require direct contact
and supervision of children.

(9) Any employee of a county office of education or the State Department of Education, whose duties
bring the employee into contact with children on a regular basis.

(10) A licensee, an administrator, or an employee of a licensed community care or child day care
facility.

(11) A Head Start program teacher.

{12) A licensing worker or licensing evaluator employed by a licensing agency as defined in Section
11165.11.

(13) A public assistance worker.

(14) An employee of a child care instifution, including, but not lirnited to, foster parents, group home
personnel, and personnel of residential care facilities.

{15) A social worker, probation officer, or parcle officer.

(16) An employee of a school district police or security department.

(17) Any person who is an administrator or presenter of, or a counselor in, a child abuse prevention
program in any public or private school. .

(18) A district attorney investigator, inspector, or local child support agency caseworker uniess the
investigator, inspector, or caseworker is working with an attorney appointed pursuant to Section 317 of
the Welfare and Institutions Code to represent a minor,

(19) A peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, who
is not otherwise described in this section.

(20) A firefighter, except for volunteer firefighters,

(21) A physiclan, surgeon, psychiatrist, psychologist, dentist, resident, intern, padiatrist, chiropractor,
licensed nurse, dental hygienist, optometrist, marriage, family and child counselor, clinical social worker,
or any other person who is currently licensed under Division 2 (commencing with Section 500) of the
Business and Professions Code.

(22) Any emergency medical technician | or I, paramedic, or other person certified pursuant to Division
2.5 (commencing with Section 1797) of the Health and Safety Code.

(23) A psychological assistant registered pursuant to Section 2913 of the Business and Professions
Code.

(24) A marriage, family, and child therapist trainee, as defined in subdivision (c¢) of Section 4980.03 of
the Business and Professions Code. .

(25) An unlicensed marriage, family, and child therapist intern registered under Section 4580.44 of the
Business and Professions Code.

(26) A state or county public health employee who treats a minor for venereal disease or any other
condition.

{27} A coroner.

(28) A medical examiner, or any other person who performs autopsies.

(29) A commercial film and photographic print processor, as specified in subdivision (e) of Section
11166. As used in this article, "commercial film and photographic print processor” means any person who
develops exposed photographic film into negatives, slides, or prints, or who makes prints from negatives
or slides, for compensation. The term includes any employee of such a person; it does not include a
person who develops film or makes prints for a public agency.



(30) A child visitation manitor, As used in this article, "child visitation monitor” means any person who,
for financial compensation, acts as monitor of a visit between a child and any other person when the
monitoring of that visit has been ordered by a court of law.

{31) An animal control officer or humane society officer. For the purposes of this article, the following
terms have the following meanings:

(A) "Animal control officer” means any person employed by a city, county, or city and county for the
purpose of enforcing animal control laws or regulations.

(B) "Humane society officer” means any person appointed or employed by a public or privafe entity as a
humane officer who is qualified pursuant fo Section 14502 or 14503 of the Corporations Code.

(32) A clergy member, as specified in subdivision (d) of Section 11168. As used in this article, "clergy
member’ means a priest, minister, rabbi, religious practitioner, or similar functionary of a church, temple,
or recognized denomination or organization. -

(33) Any custodian of records of a clergy member, as specified in this section and subdivision {d} of
Section 111686.

(34) Any employee of any police department, county sheriff's department, county probation depariment,
or county welfare department. _ '

(35} An employee or volunteer of a Court Appointed Special Advocate program, as defined in Rule
1424 of the California Rules of Court.

(36) A custodial officer as defined in Section 831.5. .

(37) Any person providing services to a minor child under Section 12300 or 12300.1 of the Welfare and
Institutions Code.

(38) An alcohol and drug counselor. As used in this article, an “alcohol and drug counselor” is & person
providing counseling, therapy, or other clinical services for a state licensed or certified drug, aicohol, or
drug and alcohol treatment program. However, alcohol or drug abuse, or both alcohol and drug abuse, is
.not in and of itself a sufficient basis for reporting child abuse or neglect.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (35) of subdivision (a), volunteers of public or private organizations
whose duties require direct contact with and supervision of children are not mandated reporters but are
encouraged to obtain fraining in the identification and reporting of chifd abuse and neglect and are further
encouraged to report known or suspected instances of child abuse or neglect to an agency specified in
Section 11165.9.

(c) Employers are strongly encouraged to provide their employees who are mandated reporters with
training in the duties imposed by this article. This fraining shall include training in child abuse and neglect
identification and training in child abuse and neglect reporting. Whether or not employers provide their
employees with training in child abuse and neglect identification and reporting, the employers shall
provide their employees who are mandated reporters with the statement required pursuant to subdivision
{a} of Section
11166.5.

(d) School districts that do not train their employees specified in subdivision (a) in the duties of
mandated reporters under the child abuse reporting laws shall report to the State Department of
Education the reasons why this training s not provided.

{e) Uniess otherwise specifically provided, the absence of training shall not excuse a mandated reporter
from the duties Imposed by this article.

(f) Public and private organizations are encouraged to provide their volunteers whose duties require
direct contact with and supervision of children with training in the identification and reporting of child
abuse and neglect.

Section 11166 of the Penal Code reads:

11166. {a) Except as provided in subdivision {d}, and in Section 11166.05, a mandated reporter shall
make a report to an agency specified in Section 11165.9 whenever the mandated reporter, in his or her
professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment, has knowledge of or observes a child
whom the mandated reporter knows or reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse or
neglect. The mandated reporter shall make an initial report to the agency immediately or as scon as s
practicably possible by telephone and the mandated reporter shall prepare and send, fax, or electronically
transmit a written follow-up report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the



incident. The mandated reporter may include with the report any non-privileged documentary evidence
the mandated reporter possesses relating to the incident.

(1) For the purposes of this article, “reasonable suspicion” means that it is objectively reasonable for a
person to entertain a suspicion, based upon facts that could cause a reasonable person in a fike position,
drawing, when appropriate, on his or her training and experience, to suspect child abuse or neglect. For
the purpose of this article, the pregnancy of a minor does not, in and of itself, constitute a basis fora
reasonable suspicion of sexual abuse.

{2) The agency shall be notified and a report shall be prepared and sent, faxed, or electronically
transmitted even if the child has expired, regardiess of whether or not the possible abuse was a factor
contributing to the death, and even if suspected child abuse was discovered during an autepsy.

(3) Any report made by & mandated reporter pursuant fo this section shalt be known as a mandated
report.

(b) If after reasonable efforts a mandated reporter is unable to submit an initial report by teiephone, he
or she shall immediately or as soon as is practicably possible, by fax or electronic transmission, make a
one-time automated written report on the form prescribed by the Department of Justice, and shall also be
available to respond to a telephone follow-up call by the agency with which he or she filed the report. A
mandated reporter who files a one-time automated written report because he or she was unable to submit
an initial report by telephone is not required to submit a written follow-up report.

(1) The one-time automated written report form prescribed by the Department of Justice shall be clearly
identifiable so that it is not mistaken for a standard written follow-up report. In addition, the automated
one-time report shall contain a section that allows the mandated reporter to state the reason the initial
telephone call was not able to be completed. The reason for the submission of the one-time automated
written report in lieu of the procedure prescribed in subdivision (a) shall be captured in the Child Weifare
Services/Case Management System (CWS/CMS). The department shall work with stakeholders to modify
reporting forms and the CWS/CMS as is necessary to accommodate the changes enacted by these
provisions.

{2) This subdivision shall not become operative until the CWS/CMS is updated to capture the
information prescribed in this subdivision.

(3) This subdivision shall become inoperative three years after this subdivision becomes operative or on
January 1, 2009, whichever occurs first.

{4) On the inoperative date of these provisions, a report shall be submitted to the counties and the
Legislature by the Department of Social Services that reflects the data collected from automated one-time
reports indicating the reasons stated as to why the automated one-time report was filed in lieu of the initial
telephone report,

(5) Nothing In this section shall supersede the requirement that a mandated reporter first attempt to
make a report via telephone, or that agencies specified in Section 11165.9 accept reports from mandated
reporters and other persons as required.

(c) Any mandated reporter who fails to report an Incident of known or reasonably suspected child abuse
or neglect as required by this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months
confinement in a county Jail or by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by both that imprisonment
and fine. If a mandated reporter intentionally conceals his or her failure to report an incident known by the
mandated reporter fo be abuse or severe neglect under this section, the failure to report is a continuing
offense until an agency specified in Section 11165.9 discovers the offense.

(d) (1) A clergy member who acquires knowledge or a reasonable suspicion of child abuse or neglect
during a penitential communication is not subject to subdivision (a). For the purposes of this subdivision,
"penitential communication" means a communication, intended to be in confidence, including, but not
limited to, a sacramental confession, made to a clergy member who, in the course of the discipline or
practice of his or her church, denomination, or organization, is authorized or accustomed to hear those
communications, and under the discipline, tenets, customs, or practices of his or her church,
denomination, or organization, has a duty to keep those communications secret.

(2) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to modify or limit a clergy member's duty to report
known or suspected child abuse, or neglect when the clergy member is acting in some other capacity that
would otherwise make the clergy member a mandated reporter.

(3) (A) On or bafore January 1, 2004, a clergy member or any custodian of records for the clergy
member may report to an agency specified in Section 11165.9 that the clergy member or any custodian of
records for the clergy member, prior to January 1, 1997, in his or her professional capacity or within the



scope of his or her employment, other than during a penitential communication, acquired knowledge or
had a reasonable suspicion that a child had been the victim of sexual abuse that the clergy member or
any custodian of records for the clergy member did not previously report the abuse to an agency specified
in Section 11165.9. The provisions of Section 11172 shall apply to all reports made pursuant to this
paragraph.

(B) This paragraph shall apply even if the victim of the known or suspected abuse has reached the age
of majority by the time the required report is made,

(C) The local law enforcement agency shall have jurisdiction to investigate any report of child abuse
made pursuant to this paragraph even if the report is made after the victim has reached the age of
majority.

() Any commercial film and photographic print processor who has knowledge of or observes, within the
scope of his or her professional capacity or employment, any film, photograph, videotape, negative, or
slide depicting a child under the age of 16 years engaged in an act of sexual conduct, shall report the
instance of suspected child abuse to the [aw enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the case
immediately, or as soon as practicably possible, by telephone and shall prepare and send, fax, or
electronically fransmit a written report of it with a copy of the film, photograph, videotape, negative, or
slide attached within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident. As used In this
subdivision, "sexual conduct’ means any of the following:

(1) Sexual intercourse, including genital-genital, oral-genital, anal-genital, or oral-anal, whether between
persens of the same or opposite sex or between humans and animals.

(2) Penetration of the vagina or rectum by any object.

(3) Masturbation for the purpose of sexual stimulation of the viewer.

(4) Sadomasochistic abuse for the purpose of sexual stimulation of the viewer.

(5) Exhibition of the genitals, pubic, or rectal areas of any person for the purpose of sexual stimulation
of the viewer,

()} Any mandated reporter who knows or reasonably suspects that the home or institution in which a
child resides is unsuitable for the child because of abuse or neglect of the child shail bring the condition to
the attention of the agency to which, and at the same time as, he or she makes a report of the abuse or
neglect pursuant to subdivision (a).

(g) Any other person who has knowledge of or cbserves a child whom he or she knows or reasonably
suspects has been a victim of child abuse or neglect may report the known or suspected instance of child
abuse or neglect to an agency specified in Section 11165.9. For purposes of this section, “any other
person” includes a mandated reporter who acts in his or her private capacity and not in his or her
professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment.

(h) When two or more persons, who are required to report, jointly have knowledge of a known or
suspected instance of child abuse or neglect, and when there is agreement among them, the telephone
report may be made by a member of the team selected by mutual agreement and a single report may be
made and signed by the selected member of the reporting team. Any member who has knowledge that
the member designated to report has failed to do so shall thereafter make the report.

{i) (1) The reporting duties under this section are individual, and no supervisor or administrator may
impede or inhibit the reporting duties, and no person making a report shall be subject to any sanction for
making the report. However, internal procedures to facilitate reporting and apprise supervisors and
administrators of reports may be established provided that they are not inconsistent with this articie.

(2) The internal procedures shall not require any employee required to make reports pursuant to this
article to disclose his or her identity to the employer.

(3) Reporting the information regarding a case of possible child abuse or neglect to an employer,
supervisor, school principal, school counselor, coworker, or other person shall not be a substitute for
making a mandated report to an agency specified in Section 11165.9.

(i) A county probation or welfare department shall immediately, or as soon as practicably possible,
report by telephone, fax, or electronic transmission to the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over
the case, o the agency given the responsibility for investigation of cases under Section 300 of the
Welfare and Institutions Code, and to the district attorney's office every known or suspected instance of
child abuse or neglect, as defined in Section 11165.6, except acts or omissions coming within subdivision
(b} of Section 11165.2, or reports made pursuant to Section 11165.13 based on risk to a child which
relates solely to the inabllity of the parent to provide the child with regular care due to the parent's
substance abuse, which shall be reported only to the county welfare or probation department. A county



probation or welfare department also shall send, fax, or electronically transmit a written report thereof
within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident to any agency to which it makes a
telephone report under this subdivision.

(k) A law enforcement agency shall immediately, or as soon as practicably possible, report by
telephone, fax, or electronic transmission to the agency given responsibility for investigation of cases
under Section 300 of the Welfare and institutions Code and to the district attorney's office every known or
suspected instance of child abuse or neglect reported to it, except acts or omissions coming within
subdivision {b) of Section 11165.2, which shall be reported only to the county welfare or probation
department. A law enforcement agency shall report to the county welfare or probation department every
known or suspected instance of child abuse or neglect reported to it which is alleged to have occurred as
a result of the action of a person responsible for the child's welfare, or as the result of the failure of a
person responsibie for the child’s weifare to adequately protect the minor from abuse when the person
responsible for the child's welfare knew or reasonably should have known that the minor was in danger of
abuse. A law enforcement agency also shall send, fax, or electronically transmit a written report thereof
within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident to any agency to which it makes a
telephone report under this subdivision.



