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The goal of this checklist is to provide you the steps to reduce the spread of disease at your daycare/ 
preschool/school, keep the community healthy and enhance student education in a safe environment. 

When to Use Checklist: When at least one student at your facility has possible pertussis. Work 
with the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health (Public Health) and your daycare/ 
preschool/school district’s nurse or designee to take the following actions.  

□ Step 1. Protect students from being infected with pertussis  

□ 1a. Advise parents/families of student with pertussis that the infected  
child cannot participate in classes and extracurricular activities.  

□ 1b. Refer person with possible pertussis to be evaluated by a  
medical provider if not evaluated yet. The individual/parent must provide a 
doctor’s note (with doctor’s name and phone number) to the school that 
they/their child was under the care of the doctor. 

PERTUSSIS 
SYMPTOMS 

Coughing fits/spells, 
inspiratory whoop, 

vomiting after cough, 
apnea, etc. 

 Note: Persons fully vaccinated or who have had pertussis illness in the past can still get 
pertussis. However, symptoms may appear to be more mild/atypical.  

□ Step 2. Report by phone possible pertussis cases within 1 business day 
Fax Cover Sheet 

□ 2a. Report to either of the following:  

LACDPH’s VPDC: 
TEL: (213) 351-7800 

(Monday-Friday, 8:30AM-5:00PM) 

Administration Officer on Duty 
TEL: (213) 974-1234 

(After hours or on the weekend) 

 Note: California law requires all providers, including daycare/preschool/school health 
personnel, to report suspected pertussis cases, even if not yet evaluated by a medical 
provider. Do not wait for lab results to report. 

□ Step 3. Fax requested information to Public Health at (213) 351-2782 Fax 
Cover Sheet and Roster for Unvaccinated/Under-vaccinated Students  
 Note: Local health departments can obtain personal information necessary to perform 
investigations for public health purposes according to Title 17, California Code of 
Regulations (CCR), §2500.  
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Information for Daycare/Preschool/School Health Personnel 

For any questions, please call VPDC at: 
Monday to Friday, 8:00AM to 5:00PM: (213) 351-7800 
After Business Hours or on Weekends: (213) 974-1234 
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□ Step 7. Close investigation once declared closed by Public Health 

□ 7a. Do not allow students with suspected pertussis to return to daycare/preschool/school or other 
extracurricular activities until either of the following: 

1. 5 days of appropriate antibiotics have been completed, even if provider cleared them to 
return earlier 

2. 21 days after cough onset have passed if not antibiotics completed.  

□ 7b. Notify parents when a pertussis investigation has ended using Public Health’s End of 
Investigation Letter. Contact Public Health for copy of letter.  

□ Step 6. For Daycare/Preschools Only: Notify unvaccinated or under-vaccinated 
asymptomatic attendees to stay home until cleared by Public Health  

□ 6a. In consultation with Public Health, unvaccinated or under-vaccinated asymptomatic children 
may not be allowed to attend daycare/preschool for the first 5 days of antibiotic prophylaxis or 
longer if antibiotic prophylaxis is refused for the child by the parent/guardian (approx. 21 days). 

 Note: Public Health will determine if un-/under-vaccinated asymptomatic students/staff 
may not be able to attend daycare/preschool/school.  

□ Step 5. Monitor students/staff for 21 days after the last  
day the most recent case was at school while infectious.  
Tracking List and Checklist 2.  

□ 5a. Notify teachers/staff to send students with pertussis-like symptoms to the health office. 

□ 5b. Refer all symptomatic individuals to their regular provider for evaluation. The 
individual/parent must provide a doctor’s note (with doctor’s name and phone number) to the 
school that they/their child was under the care of the doctor. 

□ 5c. Track exposed contacts who may develop pertussis-like symptoms. 

□ 5d. Once 2 cases are identified, refer to Checklist 2 for further guidance.   

 Note: Public Health will send a notification letter to the Director/Superintendent of 
daycare/preschool/school to provide guidance on pertussis investigation.   

     

□ Step 4. Notify involved individuals using Public Health template letters 

□ 4a. Notify impacted students, parents, and staff of possible pertussis exposures using the appropriate 
letter(s) from Public Health. Contact Public Health for a copy of letter(s). 
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Information for Daycare/Preschool/School Health Personnel 

Notification to All Students and 
Parents of Pertussis Situation 

Who: Entire school (students and staff) 
When: Once student has been identified 
as having pertussis in classroom and 
advised by Public Health.  
Purpose: Inform entire school of 
pertussis situation at school and 
guidance on prevention. 
Letterhead: School  

OPTIONAL LETTER 

CONTACTS 
Persons who share a 

classroom or extracurricular 
activity with a person with 

pertussis for approx. ≥1 hour. 

Exposure Notification to  
Students Exposed to Pertussis 

Who: Classmates/close contacts to student 
with pertussis. Don’t send to entire school. 
When: Once student has been identified as 
having pertussis in classroom and advised 
by Public Health. 
Purpose: Inform those directly exposed to 
pertussis of Public Health 
recommendations. 
Letterhead: School or Public Health 

Exposure Notification After the 
End of the School Year to 

Students Exposed to Pertussis. 
Who: Classmates/close contacts to case(s) 
When: Once identify student to have 
pertussis prior to end of school year and 
advised by Public Health. Send during 
school breaks. 
Purpose: Inform those directly exposed to 
pertussis during the school year 
Letterhead: School or Public Health 
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