Tell Us How We're Doing
File a complaint
To report public health issues.
Call the Customer Call Center at:

(888) 700-9995

Telephone agents are available on Monday - Friday, 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Or visit our Environmental Health Online Complaint System

To report a foodborne illness: please visit the Foodborne Illness Complaint page
How to Find Us
County of Los Angeles
Department of Public Health
Environmental Health
5050 Commerce Drive
Baldwin Park, CA 91706
(888) 700-9995

get adobe reader image

Adobe Reader
Note: PDF documents on this site were created using Adobe Acrobat 5.0 or later. If you are using an earlier version of Adobe Acrobat Reader (4.x or less), document functionality may be reduced. Please Click Here



Important Info:
soft serve image

Semi-frozen (Soft–Serve) Milk Products

Soft-Serve means Semi-frozen milk products including, ice cream, frozen dairy dessert, frozen yogurt, nondairy frozen dessert or milk shake products that are manufactured into a semi-frozen state in a freezing device (Soft-Serve machines) from which those products are served directly in a semi-frozen state, without packaging of any type, for consumption on the premises, in or from rooms where food is served to the consumers.

Except for nondairy frozen dessert mix, all mixes so used shall be secured from a licensed manufacturer of milk products.

Ice cream mix, frozen yogurt mix, frozen dairy dessert mix, frozen dessert mix, and nondairy frozen dessert mix shall be manufactured into a semi-frozen state without adulteration and freezing device, salvage shall not be reused as a mix.

The Serve-Serve machines must meet strict sanitation requirements and must be licensed by the California Department of Food and Agriculture – Milk and Dairy Foods Safety Branch. The license application shall be obtained from the Los Angeles County Environmental Health Division. The Division provides inspection services, collects the application and fees, and collects soft serve product samples from these machines on a routine basis for laboratory bacterial, yeast and mold testing.

Semi-frozen (Soft–Serve) Milk Products Plant License ($325 fee; license expires on December 31 of each year; fee is prorated for businesses started after March 31; penalties apply when not renewed within statutory deadline):

A soft–serve license is required for anyone selling soft–serve ice cream, non dairy frozen dessert or frozen yogurt. These manufactured products must be served directly in a semifrozen state, without packaging of any type, for consumption on the premises in or from rooms where food is served to the public (§33704(a), FAC).


California Department of Food and Agriculture - Milk Product Plant Licenses

Back to Environmental Health's Home Page
Pay for your Public Health
Permit or License
To pay for your Public Health Permit and/or License using your Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover), Debit Card, or Electronic Check (ECheck), please visit our Payment Portal .

A convenience fee per transaction will apply. The convenience fees for Credit Card, Debit Card, and Electronic Check are 2.25% of payment, $1.49, and $0.95 respectively. Please have your Account ID and your Facility ID numbers from your billing statement ready. Payment will only be accepted online for the total amount owed on an account. Terms and Conditions apply. For more information about Permit and License Billing, please visit our Payment information page .
Areas of Interest
Popular Links
Director of Environmental Health
Liza Frias
Public Health has made reasonable efforts to provide accurate translation. However, no computerized translation is perfect and is not intended to replace traditional translation methods. If questions arise concerning the accuracy of the information, please refer to the English edition of the website, which is the official version.
Los Angeles County Seal: Enriching lives through effective and caring services