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How to Obtain
Certified Copies of
Still Birth and
Fetal Death
Records

Upon request, this document will be made available in
Braille, large print, and audiocassette or computer disk.
To obtain a copy in one of these alternate formats, please
call or write:

California Office of Vital Records
M.S. 5103

P.O. Box 997410

Sacramento, CA 95899-7410
Telephone: (916) 445-2684
California Relay: 711/1-800-735-2929
www.cdph.ca.gov




Certified Copies of Still Birth and Fetal Death Records

What is the Office of The Office of Vital Records (OVR) is the State Registrar for the State of

Vital Records? California. OVR maintains a permanent, public record of every birth and
death that has occurred in California since July 1905, and has more than
50 million records on file.

What services are When we receive an application and the required fee for a
available from OVR? Certificate of Still Birth, we will provide certified copies to the
mother or father only.

When we receive an application and the required fee for a
Certificate of Fetal Death, we will provide certified copies to
anyone who can provide enough information to identify a specific
record.

We do not release information contained in vital records except
through certified copies.

What is the fee for a Certificate of Still Birth: $20

certified copy of a Certificate of Fetal Death: $9

Certificate of Still Birth

or a Certificate of Fetal Fees are nonrefundable (per state law).

Death?
Fees are established in the California Health and Safety Code,
which authorizes our office to keep the fee when it searches for a
record even if no certified copy is issued. For this reason, you
should provide as much information as possible so we can locate
the correct record.

If we cannot locate the record based on the information you
provide, we will keep the fee (for our searching efforts) and issue
a Certificate of No Public Record.

OVR is separate from the local registrars and county recorders, so
fees previously paid to those offices cannot be transferred to our
office.

We do not issue free copies except to: 1) district attorneys for
child support enforcement, 2) veterans for the sole purpose of
establishing military benefits, and 3) victims of crime in connection
with a claim under the Victims of Crime Act.

Fees should be paid by check or money order made payable to
the Office of Vital Records. International money orders for
out-of-country requests should be payable in U.S. dollars.
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What do | submit to get Applications are included in this pamphlet (you can photocopy

a Certificate of Still additional copies if needed, or download them from our website).

Birth or Certificate of

Fetal Death? Complete the appropriate application for the type of record you
are requesting (Still Birth or Fetal Death) — be sure to complete all
items on the application.

Complete a separate application for each record requested.

Mail the following items to our office using the address on the front
of this pamphlet:

J Completed application.
o Appropriate fee.

If any of the required items aren’t included, your request will be
returned to you for correction.

How will I know if my If your request is not accepted (e.g., due to insufficient fee,
reguest has been insufficient information, etc.), we will return your request to you
accepted? with a letter explaining what needs to be corrected.

Processing Time:

. 12 weeks — Fetal Death
. 12 weeks — Still Birth

What if | still have If you have read this pamphlet thoroughly and still have questions that
guestions? weren’t answered in this pamphlet, please call our Customer Service Unit
at (916) 445-2684 (Monday through Friday).
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